The Gatekeeper — The 9 to 5 Series

Dave Anthony
1 min readJul 31, 2019

Office-Themed Micro Fiction Based on My Real-Life Experiences

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

MaleSecretary is the worst gatekeeper in the history of the world.

The phone rings, and I recognize the phone number. I’m working on a deadline, too busy to take the call, especially with this specific caller.

MaleSecretary (situated outside my office) picks up the call at his desk and says, “Let me see if Dave is in.”

I run to the doorway of my office and signal that I’m busy, and mouth the words in an exaggerated manner, “Take a message. I’m not in.”

MaleSecretary, while holding the phone says, “Hmmm, I’m not sure if Dave is in.”

Watching me, and talking into the phone, he continues, “I don’t understand.”

Then he pauses, and sees me continuing to shake my head, with vigorous exasperation. MaleSecretary, while still holding the phone to his mouth says, “Are you in Dave? Do you not want to talk?”

Seriously dude?

--

--

Dave Anthony

Intellectual Property Lawyer, Engineer, Story-Teller/Writer, Reader, Music Lover, Picture Watcher, Broke Father, Rich Daddy. Working on first novel.