Good Morning with a Smile

Dave Anthony
1 min readApr 23, 2024
Photo by Ángel López on Unsplash

As I walked through the halls of my workplace, I smiled and told everyone I encountered, “Good Morning.”

It’s amazing what a smile and a greeting can do. It can lift spirits. I know because there have been times when I’ve been the recipient of similar happy, smiley, greetings, and automatically, it warms my heart, and I smile, externally and internally.

So, I smiled and greeted, and greeted and smiled, and for fleeting moments, I smiled internally as well. What I haven’t mentioned is that this morning I was not in the best of moods. In fact, I was pretty low mentally and emotionally. So those fleeting moments, were just that, fleeting.

I don’t think there is a point to what I’m writing, or more accurately, rambling on about. Just, maybe we should aim to be nice at the very least. Being nice is a good starting point.

And, as I was writing this during my lunch break, a coworker poked her head into my doorway, and told me about a free coffee giveaway. She smiled as she delivered the good news. I felt her joy. I honestly did. I smiled back… …with my face.

© Dave Anthony. All Rights Reserved

--

--

Dave Anthony

Intellectual Property Lawyer, Engineer, Story-Teller/Writer, Reader, Music Lover, Picture Watcher, Broke Father, Rich Daddy. Working on first novel.